Gary Wright Humanitarian Award

The GARY WRIGHT HUMANITARIAN AWARD was established in honour of Gary Wright, the founder of Friends of We Care, and is presented to a member of the Foodservice and Hospitality Industry who has contributed to the improvement of the community at large.


2018 Winner – Brent Cator

Cardinal Meat Specialists Ltd. has been a Friends of We Care Member Sponsor for 22 years, and company President and Owner Brent Cator continues to lead the team that has raised more than $1,000,000 to send kids with disabilities to summer camps across the country.

Cardinal is dedicated to being Canada’s leading burger and sealed environment cooked protein manufacturer. Cardinal Meats has been in business for over 50 years, and operates two plants, one in Mississauga and the other in Brampton. They supply top restaurateurs and major retailers with a range of meat products, placing emphasis on quality, consistency, and food safety.

Cardinal has passionately dedicated time to help raise awareness and funds to send kids to camp for We Care. The company participates in the We Care National Bowling Challenge, We Care Golf & Spa Classic, We Care Pro-Am, and 3-Pitch Softball Mania events. For the past two years Brent has also been the biggest fundraiser in the Smoke’s Poutinerie World Poutine Eating Championship CEO Charity Eat Off Challenge in support of We Care.

Brent lives in Etobicoke, Ontario with his wife of over 20 years, Jodie, and has two beautiful teenage daughters Sedona and Taryn.

Friends of We Care would like to thank and congratulate Brent Cator on being the recipient of the 2018 Gary Wright Humanitarian Award.


Past Winners of the Gary Wright Humanitarian Award:

  • 2017 Mr. Kevin Collins
  • 2016 Ms. Bernice Blomme
  • 2015 Mr. Kevin Frankish
  • 2014 Mr. David Abrams
  • 2013 Mr. Don LeBlanc
  • 2012 Mr. Mark Cator
  • 2011 Mr. Eddie Sokoloff
  • 2010 Ms. Carol Moffatt-Bailes
  • 2009 Mr. Brian Orr
  • 2008 Mr. Hugh Kelly, Mr. Dave Wilcox (P)
  • 2007 Mr. Peter Noble (P)
  • 2006 Mr. Terry Lindermann
  • 2005 Ms. Virgina (Gini) Norris
  • 2004 Mr. Jim Grieb
  • 2003 Mr. Jim MacPherson
  • 2002 Mr. Sheldon Kofsky
  • 2001 Mr. Grant Gillard
  • 2000 Mr. Gary Marshall
  • 1999 Mr. Len Lundberg (P)
  • 1998 Ms. Kathy Starr
  • 1997 Mr. Robert McNutt
  • 1996 Mr. Bruce Curtis
  • 1995 Mr. Dick Burgess (P)
  • 1993 Mr. Ted Graham
  • 1992 Mr. Harrison McCain, Mr. Wallace McCain
  • 1991 Mr. Ron Joyce
  • 1989 Mr. Gray Steele
  • 1988 Mr. Bill Farr
  • 1987 Mr. Gary Wright(P)